Resize Text: |


1.               An Election will be held from Tuesday, 18 April 2023 (8am) to Tuesday, 2 May 2023 (11.59pm) to fill seven (7) vacancies in the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) arising from the expiry of the term of office for seven (7) elected members.

2.             We are pleased to announce that the following 10 candidates are standing for election:

a)              Dr Chen Suet Ching Jeanette;
b)              Dr Chua Jun Jin;
c)              Dr Koura Aaryan Nath;
d)              Dr Lai Siang Hui;
e)              Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael;
f)               Dr Ng Wei Keong Alan;
g)              Dr Subramaniam Surajkumar;
h)              Dr Tan Yan Yuan;
i)               Dr Wang Ee Jen Wilson; and
j)               Dr Wong Chiang Yin

3.              The seven (7) candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected and shall hold office for a period of three (3) years.

Voting is compulsory

4.       Voting is compulsory for all fully registered medical practitioners resident in Singapore who have a valid practising certificate during the Election period.

5.       A doctor who is required to vote and fails to do so shall not be entitled to apply for a practising certificate unless he/she satisfies the Registrar that he/she had a good and sufficient reason for not voting at the election; or he/she pays to SMC a penalty of $500.

6.       Provisionally registered (P-reg), temporarily registered (T-reg) and conditionally registered (C-reg) doctors are not required to vote in the SMC election.

Election Page in the Professional Registration System (PRS) for Online Voting

7.       Please log in to the PRS at the SMC website with your SingPass to cast your votes. You may access the PRS login page by clicking on the link.

8.       The Election Page will open for voting from Tuesday, 18 April 2023 (8am) to Tuesday, 2 May 2023 (11.59pm). No votes can be cast after Tuesday, 2 May 2023 (11.59pm).

9.       The Curriculum Vitae (CVs) of all the candidates can be viewed on the Election Page from Tuesday, 11 April 2023 (8am).

10.     You cannot authorise another person to vote on your behalf.

11.     Once you have cast your votes (i.e. by clicking ‘confirm’ on the Election Page), you will not be able to change your votes. Upon successful submission, you will be provided with a voting reference (e.g. SMC2023-xxxx) in the acknowledgement page.

12.     Please refer to the attached Annex for details on how to cast your votes online.

Important notices:

PRS downtime due to scheduled maintenance

13.     The PRS will not be accessible due to system maintenance on the following dates and times:

Date/ Day



Wednesday, 19 April 2023

6 pm

8 pm

Wednesday, 26 April 2023

6 pm

8 pm


Update of Personal Particulars

14.     It is important that you update your particulars (e.g. preferred email address, preferred mailing address, local / overseas residential address, handphone number, residential status, employment details) via the PRS.

For enquiries

15.     If you require assistance with regards to the online voting via PRS, please email us at may also refer to the FAQs on the SMC website under “SMC Election” for general assistance.

16.     If you encounter problems logging in with your SingPass account, you may contact SingPass Helpdesk at +65 63353533 or email them at

          Thank you.