The Secretariat of healthcare Professional Boards (SPB) is a single Secretariat team to be formed on 1 January 2020 to support the secretariat and operational functions of the healthcare Professional Boards of Singapore, namely, Singapore Medical Council, Singapore Dental Council, Singapore Nursing Board, Singapore Pharmacy Council, Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board, Optometrists & Opticians Board, Allied Health Professions Council, Specialists Accreditation Board, Dental Specialists Accreditation Board, Pharmacy Specialists Accreditation Board and Family Physicians Accreditation Board.

The registration and regulation of healthcare professionals will continue to be governed by the professional councils and boards.  The councils and boards will retain autonomy and independence over professional and statutory matters, as provided for under their respective professional registration Acts.

For more information, please refer to the circular on “Provision of Shared Services by the Secretariat of healthcare Professional Boards (SPB) to all Healthcare Professional Boards” dated 15 November 2019.  

The allied health professions comprise diverse groups of healthcare professionals providing a wide range of health services for all Singaporeans. They include Audiologists, Clinical Psychologists, Dietitians, Occupational Therapists, Physiotherapists, Podiatrists, Prosthetists/Orthotists, Radiation Therapists, Radiographers, Speech-Language Therapists, and others

The Allied Health Professions Council (AHPC) is a professional board under the Ministry of Health which governs and regulates the professional conduct and ethics of registered allied health professionals, in accordance to the Allied Health Professions (AHP) Act 2011. The AHPC’s functions include the registration and issuing of practicing certificates to registered allied health professionals, setting of standards for training, conduct and practice; as well as to maintain the Register of Allied Health Professionals in Singapore.

The allied health professions that are regulated under the Allied Health Professions Act 2011 at this time are Occupational Therapists, Physiotherapists, Speech-Language Therapists, Diagnostic Radiographers and Radiation Therapists.

Coripass Login
Resize Text: