Resize Text: |

Who we are

Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board (TCMPB)

The Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board ("TCMPB") is a statutory board under the charge of the Ministry of Health. It was first established on 7 February 2001 under the Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Act 2000.

Members of TCMPB

Under the Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Act, the Board shall have not less than 5 and not more than 11 members to be appointed by the Minister for Health as follows:
  1. one registered medical practitioner;
  2. one Registrar ex-officio; and
  3. two registered persons with at least 10 years experience in any prescribed practice of TCM.
The Minister for Health appoints one of the members to be the Chairman. Every member, except the Registrar, holds office for a term of 3 years and is eligible for reappointment.

The present TCMPB members comprise the following:

Functions of TCMPB

  1. to approve or reject applications for registration;
  2. to accredit -
    1. courses in the practice of traditional Chinese medicine in Singapore for the purpose of registration;and
    2. the institutions of higher learning in Singapore offering any of these courses.
  3. to make recommendations to the appropriate authorities for the continuing training and education of registered persons;
  4. to determine and regulate the conduct and ethics of registered persons; and
  5. generally to do all such acts, matters and things as are necessary or authorised to be carried out under the Act and any regulations made thereunder.

What is “Secretariat of healthcare Professional Boards”?

With effect from 1 Jan 2020, TCMPB is supported by the Secretariat of healthcare Professional Boards (SPB) for its secretariat and operational functions. The registration and regulation of TCM practitioners continue to be governed by TCMPB, which retains autonomy and independence over professional and statutory matters, as provided for under the Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Act.