Resize Text: |


1.    An election will be held from Tuesday, 5 May 2020 (8.00am) to Tuesday, 19 May 2020 (11.59pm) to fill seven (7) vacancies in the Singapore Medical Council (SMC) arising from the expiry of the term of office on 8 June 2020 for seven (7) elected members.

2.    We are pleased to announce that the following 12 candidates are standing for election:

     a) Dr Chen Suet Ching Jeanette;
     b) Dr Chong Yew Luen Christopher;
     c) Dr Chua Swee Boon Raymond;
     d) Dr Hee Hwan Ing;
     e) Dr Kong Tze Yean;
     f) Dr Lim Khong Jin Michael;
     g) Dr Lye Tong Fong;
     h) Dr Ng Wei Keong Alan;
     i) Dr Adrian Siew Ming Saurajen;
     j) Dr Subramaniam Surajkumar;
     k) Dr Tay Miah Hiang; and
     l) Dr Wong Chiang Yin

3.    The seven (7) candidates with the highest number of votes will be elected and shall hold office for a period of three (3) years from 9 June 2020.

Voting is compulsory

4.    Voting is compulsory for all fully registered medical practitioners resident in Singapore who have a valid practising certificate during the election period1. A doctor who is required to vote and fails to do so shall not be entitled to apply for a practising certificate unless he/she satisfies the Registrar that he/she had a good and sufficient reason for not voting at the election; or he/she pays to SMC a penalty of $5002.

Election Portal for Online Voting

5.    Voting will be conducted online via the Professional Registration System (PRS). Please login to PRS here using your SingPass.

6.    The online voting system will open from Tuesday, 5 May 2020 (8.00am) to Tuesday, 19 May 2020 (11.59pm). No vote can be cast after Tuesday, 19 May 2020 (11.59pm).

7.    The Curriculum Vitae (CV) of all 12 candidates can be viewed on the online voting system.

8.    You cannot authorise another person to vote on your behalf.

9.    Once you have submitted your vote successfully, you will be provided with a voting reference (e.g. SMC2020-xxxx).

10.   Please refer to the attached Annex here for details on the online voting in the PRS.

Important notices:

Temporary Closure of Singapore Medical Council Office Premises

11.   In line with the Singapore government’s additional measures to reduce the risk of further local transmission of COVID-19, the Singapore Medical Council office is temporarily closed from Tuesday, 7 Apr 2020 to Monday, 1 Jun 2020.

PRS downtime due to scheduled maintenance

12.    The PRS will not be accessible due to system maintenance on the following dates and times:

 Date/ Day   From To 
 Wednesday, 6 May 2020   6.00 pm   8.00 pm
 Wednesday, 13 May 2020  6.00 pm  8.00 pm

For enquiries

13.    If you require assistance with regard to the online voting through PRS, please email us at If you encounter problems logging in with your SingPass account, you may contact SingPass Helpdesk at +65 63353533 or email them at


1 Medical Registration Act s6(1)

2 Medical Registration Act s6(2); Medical Registration Regulations s10(2)