Duration of Residency Training in Singapore

The duration of residency training accredited by ACGME-I and that required for exit certification by the Specialists Accreditation Board is listed in the following table. Where the duration for accreditation exceeds that of ACGME-I, the remaining time will be accredited by the Joint Committee on Specialist Training (JCST).

Specialty Duration of training accredited by ACGME-I for residency programme (mths)  Total duration of training in Singapore (mnths) 
 Anaesthesiology 36 (36) + 24 

Training Requirements Document

Specialty Training Requirements 
Anaesthesiology  Anaesthesiology Residency Training Requirements
Updated August 2018 

Please refer to the ACGME-I website for the Anaesthesiology Advanced Specialty Requirements.

Requirements for Progression to Senior Resident

Specialty Requirements

For residents entering R4 in 2015 to 2018

  • Pass final M.Med (Anaesthesiology) or equivalent examinations*

    *List of equivalent qualifications:

    1. FANZCA

    2. FRCA (UK)

    3. American Board of Anaesthesiology (ABA), Diplomate

    4. FCAI part 2 obtained before 1 January 2015

  • PD Certification of successful completion of R3


    For residents entering R4 from July 2019 onwards

  • Pass Final M.Med (Anaesthesiology) or M.Med (Anaes) Part B Examination
  • PD Certification of successful completion of R3

Exit Criteria

Specialty Current Exit Examinations / Assessments
  • Clinical and case management review
  • Paper critique
  • Logbook review