Resize Text: |



The Ophthalmology MCQ Examination (OP Examination (MCQ)) is a postgraduate examination for exit certification. Completing the OP Examination (MCQ) is one of the requirements for exit certification and for specialist registration as determined by the Specialists Accreditation Board (SAB). The examination is jointly developed by the ABMS Singapore (ABMS-S), LLC, the relevant Member Board of its affiliate, the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), and the Ministry of Health, Singapore (MOH).

ABMS is a not-for-profit organisation that assists the American medical specialty boards in the development and use of standards in the evaluation and certification of specialists.

MOH has collaborated with ABMS-S to develop specialty-specific psychometrically validated multiple-choice question (MCQ) examinations for Singapore. The examination blueprints have been designed to ensure that the content is relevant to the practice of medicine in Singapore. The OP Examination (MCQ) will complement the structured formative training of the residency programme and other clinical assessments required in the programme.

Any specialty certificate issued by MOH does not entitle the holder to reciprocal certification privileges in the U.S.

Back to Top

Purpose of the Examination

The SAB determines the qualifications, experience and training programmes which are to be recognised for registration as specialists under the Medical Registration Act, and grants Certificates of Specialist Accreditation to persons who meet these requirements. You can obtain current information from the section on Specialist Accreditation in Singapore.

To receive the Certificate of Specialist Accreditation in a specialty, a doctor must meet the graduate medical education training requirements, demonstrate clinical competence in the care of patients, meet the licensure requirements with the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), and pass the required postgraduate examinations.

The Ophthalmology Examination (OP Examination)

The OP Examination comprising 2 components shall be the exit examination for the Ophthalmology Residents.

OP Examination (MCQ) will comprise 250 multiple-choice-questions (MCQs). This is administered for residents who have successfully completed R3 junior residency program and passed the stipulated intermediate exam.

OP Examination (Clinical) is a Structured Viva examination. It will be administered not more than 3 months before the date of completion of R5 senior residency training.

A pass in each OP Examination component is mandatory for Ophthalmology Residents for exit certification, subject to completion of required postings and attestation by the Programme Directors.

Either OP Examination (MCQ) or OP Examination (Clinical) may be undertaken first, provided the eligibility criteria for the respective examination is met. It is not a prerequisite to complete either examination before the other examination can be undertaken.

Back to Top


MCQ Examination Committee

The Ophthalmology MCQ Examination Committee comprises medical educators and senior clinicians who are appointed as subject matter experts to be involved in the joint development of the examination materials with ABMS-S. The examination materials are protected by copyright laws and are intended to be delivered in a secured test environment.

Back to Top


Computer-Based Testing

The OP Examination (MCQ) is a multiple-choice examination administered by computer. The code used for this examination is OP ExaminationPearson VUE is the designated Test Vendor for administering the computer-based examination in a secured test environment. Upon successful scheduling of the examination with Pearson VUE, candidates will receive a Confirmation Email which will indicate the location of the allocated Test Centre.

Back to Top