Resize Text: |



The Internal Medicine MCQ Examination (IM Examination (MCQ)), is a postgraduate examination for the residents and trainees to progress into senior residency. Completing the IM Examination (MCQ) is one of the requirements for progression and for specialist registration as determined by the Specialists Accreditation Board (SAB). The examination is jointly developed by the ABMS Singapore (ABMS-S), LLC, the relevant Member Board of its affiliate, The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), and the Ministry of Health, Singapore (MOH).

ABMS is a not-for-profit organisation that assists the American medical specialty boards in the development and use of standards in the evaluation and certification of specialists.

MOH has collaborated with ABMS-S to develop specialty-specific psychometrically validated multiple-choice-question (MCQ) examinations for Singapore. The examination blueprints have been designed to ensure that the content is relevant to the practice of medicine in Singapore. The IM Examination (MCQ) will complement the structured formative training of the residency programme and other clinical assessments required in the programme.

Any specialty certificate issued by MOH does not entitle the holder to reciprocal certification privileges in the U.S.

Back to Top

Purpose of the Examination

The SAB determines the qualifications, experience and training programmes which are to be recognised for registration as specialists under the Medical Registration Act, and grants Certificates of Specialist Accreditation to persons who meet these requirements. Candidates can obtain current information from the section on Specialist Accreditation in Singapore.

To receive the Certificate of Specialist Accreditation in a specialty, a doctor must meet the graduate medical education training requirements, demonstrate clinical competence in the care of patients, meet the licensure requirements with the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), and pass the required postgraduate examinations.

The Internal Medicine MCQ Examination (IM Examination (MCQ))

The requirement of passing IM Examination has been removed with effect from July 2019 onwards and MRCP (UK) / M.Med (IM) is retained as the intermediate examination required for progression from R3 to R4 for IM residency programme.

IM residents from AY 2017 cohort are given an option to pass either MRCP/M.Med (Internal Medicine) or IM Examination for progression from R3 to R4. The last IM Examination will be in Year 2021, and will only be for IM residents from cohort AY 2017 who did not pass the 2020 IM exam. IM residents who do not pass the IM Examination by Year 2021 will be required to pass MRCP/M.Med (Internal Medicine) for progression to R4. All progression will require attestation by the respective Programme Director.


Back to Top

MCQ Examination Committee

The Internal Medicine MCQ Examination Committee comprises of medical educators and senior clinicians who are appointed as subject matter experts to be involved in the joint development of the examination materials with ABMS-S. The examination materials are protected by copyright laws and are intended to be delivered in a secured test environment.

Back to Top

Computer-Based Testing

The IM Examination (MCQ) is a multiple-choice examination administered by computer. The code used for this examination is IM ExaminationPearson VUE is the designated Test Vendor for administering the computer-based examination in a secured test environment.Upon successful scheduling of the examination with Pearson VUE, candidates will receive a Confirmation Email which will indicate the location of the allocated Test Centre.

Back to Top