Resize Text: |



The Internal Medicine MCQ Examination (IM Examination (MCQ)), is a postgraduate examination for the residents and trainees to progress into senior residency. Completing the IM Examination (MCQ) is one of the requirements for progression and for specialist registration as determined by the Specialists Accreditation Board (SAB). The examination is jointly developed by the ABMS Singapore (ABMS-S), LLC, the relevant Member Board of its affiliate, The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), and the Ministry of Health, Singapore (MOH).

ABMS is a not-for-profit organisation that assists the American medical specialty boards in the development and use of standards in the evaluation and certification of specialists.

MOH has collaborated with ABMS-S to develop specialty-specific psychometrically validated multiple-choice-question (MCQ) examinations for Singapore. The examination blueprints have been designed to ensure that the content is relevant to the practice of medicine in Singapore. The IM Examination (MCQ) will complement the structured formative training of the residency programme and other clinical assessments required in the programme.

Any specialty certificate issued by MOH does not entitle the holder to reciprocal certification privileges in the U.S.

Back to Top

Purpose of the Examination

The SAB determines the qualifications, experience and training programmes which are to be recognised for registration as specialists under the Medical Registration Act, and grants Certificates of Specialist Accreditation to persons who meet these requirements. Candidates can obtain current information from the section on Specialist Accreditation in Singapore.

To receive the Certificate of Specialist Accreditation in a specialty, a doctor must meet the graduate medical education training requirements, demonstrate clinical competence in the care of patients, meet the licensure requirements with the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), and pass the required postgraduate examinations.

The Internal Medicine MCQ Examination (IM Examination (MCQ))

The IM Examination (MCQ) and/or an acceptable clinical examination[1] shall be the intermediate examination required prior to progression to Senior Resident (R4 and above). The IM Examination is mandatory for IM Residents for progression, subject to attestation by the Programme Directors. IM BSTs can be exempted if they obtained their BST completion letter before May 2013. The sections below summarise the progression requirements for:

(a) IM Residents
(b) Current IM BSTs or those who had completed IM BST

(a) IM Residents

Residents who pass both the IM Examination (MCQ) and/or the acceptable clinical examination will be eligible for progression to R4. Residents will have to pass both examinations to be eligible to progress to R5. All progression will require attestation by the respective Programme Director. Residents who fail both examinations will not be eligible to progress to R4.

(b) Current IM BSTs or those who had completed IM BST

IM BSTs who obtained their BST completion letter[2] from the IM Residency Advisory Committee (RAC) or the Joint Committee on Specialists Training (JCST) before 5th May 2013 are eligible to progress to R4/R5 without taking the IM Examination. However, BSTs who obtain their BST completion letter on/after 5th May 2013 will need to fulfill the requirements described in Paragraph (a) above.

Current BSTs returning from NS will have their deadlines extended by the duration of their NS obligation, or to May 2015, whichever is earlier.

[1] Current clinical examination for Internal Medicine is the MRCP.
[2] Conferred only upon completion of all IM BSTs requirements and pass the MRCP.

Back to Top

MCQ Examination Committee

The Internal Medicine MCQ Examination Committee comprises of medical educators and senior clinicians who are appointed as subject matter experts to be involved in the joint development of the examination materials with ABMS-S. The examination materials are protected by copyright laws and are intended to be delivered in a secured test environment.

Back to Top

Computer-Based Testing

The IM Examination (MCQ) is a multiple-choice examination administered by computer. The code used for this examination is IM ExaminationPearson VUE is the designated Test Vendor for administering the computer-based examination in a secured test environment.Upon successful scheduling of the examination with Pearson VUE, candidates will receive a Confirmation Email which will indicate the location of the allocated Test Centre.

Back to Top

Last updated: 12 Oct 2018 09:04