Resize Text: |



The Family Medicine MCQ Examination (FM Examination (MCQ)) is a postgraduate examination for the residents and trainees to be assessed for exit certification. Completing the FM Examination (MCQ) is one of the requirements for exit certification and for registration as determined by the Family Physicians Accreditation Board (FPAB). The examination is jointly developed by the ABMS Singapore (ABMS-S), the relevant Member Board of its affiliate, the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), and the Ministry of Health, Singapore (MOH).

ABMS is a not-for-profit organisation that assists the American medical specialty boards in the development and use of standards in the evaluation and certification of specialists.

MOH has collaborated with ABMS-S to develop specialty-specific psychometrically validated multiple-choice-question (MCQ) examinations for Singapore. The examination blueprints have been designed to ensure that the content is relevant to the practice of medicine in Singapore. The FM Examination (MCQ) will complement the structured formative training of the residency/non-residency programme and other clinical assessments required in the programme.

Any specialty certificate issued by MOH does not entitle the holder to reciprocal certification privileges in the U.S.

Back to Top

Purpose of the Examination

The FPAB determines the qualifications, experience and training programmes which are to be recognised for registration as Family Physicians under the Medical Registration Act, and grants Certificates of Family Physician Accreditation to persons who meet these requirements. You can obtain current information from the section on Family Physician Accreditation in Singapore.

To receive the Certificate of Family Physician Accreditation, a doctor must meet the graduate medical education training requirements, demonstrate clinical competence in the care of patients, meet the licensure requirements with the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), and pass the required postgraduate examinations.

The Family Medicine Examination (FM Examination)

The FM Examination has two (2) components.

FM Examination (MCQ) will comprise 250 multiple-choice-questions (MCQs).  It is administered for residents or trainees who have completed R3 FM residency training or its equivalent.

FM Examination (Clinical) will comprise 14 stations.

Station 1: Logbook-based oral examination
Station 2: Slides-based short answer questions
Station 3 - 14: Clinical skills assessments stations comprising
10 Consultation stations
2 Physical Examination stations

Candidates have to submit their practice diaries of 40 cases to DGMS for the Oral Examination.

Only candidates who have attained a pass in the FM Examination (MCQ) will be allowed to proceed with the FM Examination (Clinical). The Master of Medicine (Family Medicine) degree is conferred upon successful completion of both the FM Examination (MCQ) and the FM Examination (Clinical) within three (3) years of completing residency or structured FM training.

The FM Examination is mandatory for FM Residents for exit certification, subject to completion of required postings and attestation by the Programme Directors.

Back to Top

MCQ Examination Committee

The Family Medicine MCQ Examination Committee comprises medical educators and senior clinicians who are appointed as subject matter experts to be involved in the joint development of the examination materials with ABMS-S. The examination materials are protected by copyright laws and are intended to be delivered in a secured test environment.

Back to Top

Computer-Based Testing

The FM Examination (MCQ) is a multiple-choice examination administered by computer. The code used for this examination is FM Examination. Pearson VUE is the designated Test Vendor for administering the computer-based examination in a secured test environment.Upon successful scheduling of the examination with Pearson VUE, candidates will receive a Confirmation Email which will indicate the location of the allocated Test Centre.

Back to Top