Resize Text: |



The Anaesthesiology MCQ Examination (AN Examination (MCQ)) 2021 is a postgraduate examination for exit certification. Completing the AN Examination (MCQ) is one of the requirements for exit certification and for specialist registration as determined by the Specialists Accreditation Board (SAB). The examination is jointly developed by the ABMS Singapore (ABMS-S), LLC, the relevant Member Board of its affiliate, the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), and the Ministry of Health, Singapore (MOH).

ABMS is a not-for-profit organisation that assists the American medical specialty boards in the development and use of standards in the evaluation and certification of specialists.

MOH has collaborated with ABMS-S to develop specialty-specific psychometrically validated multiple-choice-question (MCQ) examinations for Singapore. The examination blueprints have been designed to ensure that the content is relevant to the practice of medicine in Singapore. The AN Examination will complement the structured formative training of the residency programme and other clinical assessments required in the programme.

Any specialty certificate issued by MOH does not entitle the holder to reciprocal certification privileges in the U.S.

Back to Top

Purpose of the Examination

The SAB determines the qualifications, experience and training programmes which are to be recognised for registration as specialists under the Medical Registration Act, and grants Certificates of Specialist Accreditation to persons who meet these requirements. You can obtain current information from the section on Specialist Accreditation in Singapore.

To receive the Certificate of Specialist Accreditation in a specialty, a doctor must meet the graduate medical education training requirements, demonstrate clinical competence in the care of patients, meet the licensure requirements with the Singapore Medical Council (SMC), and pass the required postgraduate examinations.

The Anaesthesiology Examination (AN Examination)

The AN Examination comprising 2 components shall be the exit examination for Anaesthesiology senior residents who have previously passed the MMed Part 2 examinations (not applicable to those who passed the MMed Part B examinations).

  • AN Examination (MCQ) will comprise 250 multiple-choice-questions (MCQs). This paper may be taken in R4 or R5. Only candidates who have attained a pass in AN Examination (MCQ) will be allowed to proceed with AN Examination (Oral).

  • AN Examination (Oral), which isthe Exit Viva Examination, must be taken no more than 3 months before the date of completion of senior residency. It will comprise a paper critique and review and discussion of cases in the log book and issues related to these cases.

The AN Examination is mandatory for Anaesthesiology Residents for exit certification, subject to completion of required postings and attestation by the Programme Directors.

Back to Top


MCQ Examination Committee

The Anaesthesiology MCQ Examination Committee comprises medical educators and senior clinicians who are appointed as subject matter experts to be involved in the joint development of the examination materials with ABMS-S. The examination materials are protected by copyright laws and are intended to be delivered in a secured test environment.

Back to Top

Computer-Based Testing

The AN Examination (MCQ) is a multiple-choice examination administered by computer. The code used for this examination is AN ExaminationPearson VUE is the designated Test Vendor for administering the computer-based examination in a secured test environment. Upon successful scheduling of the examination with Pearson VUE, candidates will receive a Confirmation Email which will indicate the location of the allocated Test Centre.

Back to Top